“I Caught My Wife Cheating. Now What?”

On what you should consider when you face the ultimate betrayal.

Brian Ball
6 min readFeb 13, 2021
Photo by Tom Pumford on Unsplash

“Now what?” is the same question I asked myself over eleven years ago.

In 2004, I’d gotten married on Valentine’s Day, but 5 years later, I was facing my wife and the mother of my child after learning she’d been unfaithful.

I’d known that something wasn’t right. We’d opened a business together that year that hadn’t done well. Financial problems on top of the fact that we started barely seeing one another. I’d be gone before she even got up in the morning, and then she didn’t get home until after I fell asleep.

I would have never thought that she would cheat. I thought we were just in a “season of drought” as they say. A tough time that we’d overcome and get back to one another.

But then she admitted the dirty truth: she’d become physical with a man who was working with us at the business we’d opened together, someone I would have considered a friend. She didn’t, though, want our marriage to end. She was remorseful.

The anger hit me so hard that I had to leave. Immediately. I’ve never been the kind of guy who punch walls or throw things, but I wanted to break everything I could get my hands on.

--

--

Brian Ball

Husband. Father. Global Product Manager for a Fortune 500 company. Master Coach. https://beacons.ai/bdb2021